+ College Golf

Bridgeman, Phillips and Hall on Haskins Watch List

Clemson’s Jacob Bridgeman is one of three golfers with Palmetto State ties to be named to the Haskins Award Watch list. (GolfClub Photo)

Golfers with Palmetto State ties have 3 of the 15 spots on the most recent Haskins Watch List.

The award is college golf’s equivalent of the Heisman Trophy in football.

Clemson’s Jacob Bridgeman and Georgia’s Trent Phillips , both from Inman are on the list.

They are joined by USC’s Ryan Hall from Knoxville.

Bridgeman is currently ranked second in the country in both the Golfstat and Golfweek polls.

The Clemson junior most recently won the Cleveland Golf Palmetto Intercollegiate for the second straight year and also won the Camp Creek Seminole Invitational to start the spring season.

Georgia’s Trent Phillips from Inman is one of the 15 golfers on the Haskins Award List. (Georgia Photo)

Phillips is ranked 14th by Golfstat and 24th by Golfweeek.

The Bulldog Junior has a win over a strong field at the Gator Invitational to go with a pair of top-10s so far this spring.

Gamecock golfer Ryan Hall has posted three top-10 finishes so far this spring. (USC Photo)

Ryan Hall is the third golfer with ties to the Palmetto State. Hall is a junior in Columbia. While he does not have a win this year he has collected third, fourth and sixth place finishes in spring events.

Hall is currently ranked 8th in the Golfstat Poll and 16th in Golfweek.

The number one golfer in the Golfweek rankings is David Puig from Arizona State. He is included in the 15 Haskins Award candidates.

Puig, Bridgeman and Wake Forest freshman Michael Brennan have each won two tournaments this spring.

The Fred Haskins Award, presented by Stifel, is awarded annually to the most outstanding men’s college golfer, as voted on by players, coaches and media members. Past winners of the Haskins Award include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson and BenCrenshaw.

Furman’s Brad Faxon won the 1983 Haskins Award.

Brad Faxon is the only golfer from a Palmetto State school to win the award. He was honored with the Haskins Award after his 1983 senior year at Furman.

Greenville’s Jay Haas won the award during his college career at Wake Forest after winning the 1975 NCAA championship.

Voting for the Haskins Award is open to all Division I players and coaches, as well as members of the media.

The next couple of major events on the college golf schedule will include many of the 15 golfers on the watch list.

The Valspar tournament hosted by the University of Houston in Palm City, Florida next week will include 8 of the top 11 ranked teams in the country.

Ninth ranked Clemson is in the field that includes No. 1 Florida State, No. 3 Wake Forest, No. 4 Pepperdine and No. 7 Arizona St.

In addition to Bridgeman, and Puig, Wake Forest’s Brennan, Dylan Menante from Pepperine and Florida State golfers Vincent Norrman and John Pak will highlight the competition for medalist honors.

Almost as many members of the Watch list will be playing at the Tiger Invitational in Opelika, Alabama.

Phillips and his Bulldog teammate Davis Thompson along with USC’s Hall and William Moll from Vanderbilt will be attempting to add to their resumes.

Complete listing of the Haskins Award Watch List is available at


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.